Clerk Of Courts
directions & maps
common pleas local rules
court of appeals local rules
family court local rules
typical title trans.
probate title transactions
Trumbull County Search
Warren Municipal Search
TO OBTAIN A DUPLICATE/REPLACEMENT TITLE BY MAIL
To obtain a duplicate or replacement title by mail, please visit the Forms section of this website and print out and complete the Vehicle Application Section. Forward the Application to our office, along with a Money Order or Cashier’s Check and a self-addressed, stamped envelope (using current address) for return to you.
A multi purpose application that must be notarized and used for:
ORIGINAL TITLE- Use with an out of state title, a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin.
SALVAGE TITLE- Complete to issue a salvage title from a regular title.
DUPLICATE TITLE- When a title has been lost, stolen or destroyed, the titled owner (if no lien), or the lienholder (if a lien) completes this section.
MEMORANDUM TITLE- Complete to apply for a memorandum if a lien is recorded on the title. The memorandum is used by the owner to purchase a registration
FOR OUT OF STATE DEALERS PROCESSING A TITLE ON BEHALF OF AN OHIO RESIDENT
To obtain a title on behalf of an Ohio Resident that has purchased a vehicle in another state, please contact our office for the applicable title fees and Ohio State Tax due (6.75% for Trumbull County Residents). Please also visit the Forms section of this website and print out and complete the Vehicle Application (see above).
PLEASE NOTE THAT NEITHER THE CLERK OF COURTS AS A LIMITED AUTHORITY DEPUTY REGISTRAR OR ANY OF THE LOCAL DEPUTY REGISTRARS ARE AUTHORIZED TO SERVE AS AGENT FOR OBTAINING OHIO LICENSE PLATES. THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE SENT FOR PROCESSING TO THE OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY, 1970 West Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43223. For more information, visit http://www.publicsafety.ohio.gov
CHANGE OF NAME
If your name is changed through marriage or court proceedings, the name
on your Certificate of Title cannot be changed. There is no authority in the law to issue a new title in your name, for the same vehicle. Change of name is done only for a change of ownership.
DEATH OF AN OWNER
(See Probate transactions)
DEATH OF A SPOUSE
(See Probate transactions)
Upon presentation of a death certificate, the following titles may be
transferred to the surviving spouse. Up to two vehicles with a total value not in excess of $40,000, a boat, and a boat motor. Mobile
homes, motor homes, motorcycles, ATVís and semi trailers are among the vehicles that cannot be transferred to a spouse with a death certificate. Additional information may be obtained from the Title Department.
HOW TO PAY FOR TITLE FEES AND TAXES
Section 4505.06 O.R.C. requires that the Ohio Sales
Tax and Use Tax must be paid in CASH, CERTIFIED CHECK, DRAFT OR MONEY ORDER to the Clerk of Courts before an application for an automobile title can be accepted. The Clerk of Courts is required to administer this law and collect this tax for the State of Ohio.
LATE FILING FEE
Titles must be issued in your name within 30 days of the date assigned to you to avoid an additional $5.00 fee.
MINOR CONSENT FORM
Effective July 1, 1990, Amended Sub. HB 88, enacted section 4505.031
ORC, prohibits a minor under 18 years of age from selling or purchasing or disposing of a motor vehicle without authorization from a parent or guardian. The parent or guardian must fill out and sign a minor consent
form. The person signing the form
must be present with identification when the title is transferred.
The Ohio State Legislature enacted a Sales Tax Law (effective 5-21-51) on a casual sale of any motor vehicle. Any person purchasing a motor vehicle from another person must state the purchase
price upon which a 5.75% STATE SALES TAX and 1.0% TRUMBULL COUNTY SALES TAX (for a total of 6.75% for Trumbull County Residents) is levied. Effective August, 1981, all boats and motors became taxable the same as motor vehicles.
Therefore, any person purchasing a boat or motor from another person must state the state the purchase price upon which a 5.75% STATE SALES TAX and 1.0% TRUMBULL COUNTY SALES TAX (for a total of 6.75% for Trumbull County residents).
Because of the enactment of cross-county titling, residents of counties other than Trumbull County are subject to the 5.75% STATE SALES TAX and any additional taxes enacted by their resident county, when requesting titles in
Trumbull County, Ohio.
A 5.75% STATE USE TAX AND 1.0% COUNTY USE TAX (for a total of 6.75% USE TAX FOR TRUMBULL COUNTY RESIDENTS) must be paid by a resident of Trumbull County, Ohio when he purchases a motor vehicle outside
of the State of Ohio. This applies to the purchase of any motor vehicle either for use or storage in OHIO. If the tax had been paid out of state at the time of purchase then the customer must furnish the Title Department with
PROOF that that tax had been paid and we would collect the difference (if any, if said tax less than 6.75%) of any use tax due. Because of the enactment of cross-county titling, residents of other counties within Ohio are subject
to the 5.75% STATE USE TAX and any additional taxes enacted by their resident county when requesting titles in Trumbull County, Ohio.